Water Retention & Supplement Change

Guess what? It seems like my body doesn’t like to retain water. Either that or the fat measuring machine thingy at the gym is broken. I tried to google how to retain water and it seems like everyone wants to lose their water weight to reduce their bloat. Hmm…

This is Tanita, my mortal enemy

Here are my options:

  1. Find some crazy supplement to help me retain water for my hard earned muscle (Creatine, anyone?)
  2. Keep doing exactly what I’m doing
  3. Change something up (maybe I’m not eating enough salt or something in my diet is off)
  4. Go to McDonalds and binge on some fries and complain about how much my life sucks.

Okay, so the last one was a little dramatic. I’ve decided to go with options 2 & 3 (technically, option 3, but you know what I mean). I think that a week of drinking enough water is probably not enough time for my body to adjust, so I’m going to continue drinking lots of water. For me, the easiest way to get all of my water in is to drink a glass of water after each meal. So, if I eat 5-6 meals a day, that’s 5-6 glasses of water. If the glasses I’m using are 12 oz that’s 7.5 – 9 cups a day! This does not include the water in my green smoothies or protein shakes or what I drink while working out.

The change I’m going to make is by changing my protein powder. I usually use whey protein powder in my protein shakes. Not the natural stevia sweetened kind which is probably better for you, but the Mocha Cappuccino sucrose flavored kind – YUM! Obviously, since 2-3 of my meals are shakes , it might be a better idea to switch to something more natural. After reading about it in many blogs, I’ve decided on trying Sun Warrior Raw Protein Powder. It’s a GMO-free  plant-based protein powder with healthy ingredients and it contains all of the essential amino acids! Check out the link to see all of its benefits. It tastes pretty good (better than most protein powders I’ve tried), mixes well and makes you feel full.  Since I’m lactose intolerant, it should reduce any gas (gross!) or bloating I have – I guess we’ll have to wait and see how it works out!

My new protein powder in Vanilla

Thursday night, I sliced the bottom of my foot on a plastic stick thing that was on the floor at home. Everything was all over the place as we’ve had construction going on in our building and apartment over the last FIVE weeks – UGH!  As a result, I haven’t been able to do much cardio, but I’m trying to keep up on my weight training.Tonight,  I plan on doing some high-rep lower body exercises today at home using my 20 & 30 lb kettle bells and TRX suspension trainer. Heck, I might even throw in some unassisted chin-ups and try to do a pull-up 🙂 We’ll see how I feel.

Hope you guys enjoy the rest of your weekend!

A.

Leave a Reply

